Homestead has 17 National Merit semifinalists

Sept. 2, 2009

The Mequon-Thiensville School District learned today that 17 seniors from the Class of 2010 were named semifinalists for the National Merit Scholarship.

Homestead High School has never had more than 17 National Merit semifinalists in one graduating class. This is only the fourth time in the 50-year history of the high school that there have been 17.

The National Merit Scholarship Program is an academic competition for recognition and scholarships that began in 1955. High school students enter the National Merit Program by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test - a test that serves as an initial screen of approximately 1.5 million entrants each year.

In early September, about 16,000 students, or about one-third of the 50,000 high scorers, are notified that they have qualified as a semifinalist.

"The district is quite proud of the accomplishments of the 17 young people who have been recognized as National Merit semifinalists," said Demond Means, superintendent of the Mequon-Thiensville School District.

The students are Conley Brown, Randall Clopton, Phoebe Dyer, Robert Friedlander, Rohan Karmarkar, Dillon Kelly, Megan Kress, Thomas Kress, Alexander Loiben, Alexander Mattson, Jack Mitchell, Jennifer Pavelec, Erica Reetz, Alexandea Scovil, Tanner Songkakul, Kelly Stretz and Katherine Stuehr.


Local Crime Map



Latest Photo Galleries